Clare L. Farrell

Claire L. Farrell (b.1998) is a Tasmanian composer and recorder player. Farrell studied composition with Associate Professor Maria Grenfell and Dr Scott McIntyre at the University of Tasmania Conservatorium of Music and holds a Bachelor of Music with First Class Honours. Her musical style is informed by her love of nature and is characterised by polyphonic melodic lines, driving rhythms and musical imagery.

Farrell enjoys working on multidisciplinary projects. In 2018-19 she was commissioned by the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra (TSO) to compose music for the TSO & DRILL (Hobart’s youth dance company) collaborative recording for DRILL’s major season, NEON, and in 2019 she composed music for RANT Art’s multimedia project Soliloquy, which was presented at the 2019 Junction Arts Festival, Launceston. In 2020, Farrell was commissioned by the TSO to write three short works for descant recorder and ensemble for the educational resource Recorder Lift Off!, and she was featured as the descant recorder player in the recordings of all 25 works commissioned for the project. Her composition portfolio also includes commissions from Launceston College for the 2017 Yamaha National Band Championships, and Tasmanian children’s author Sharon J. Yaxley for music for the website of her children’s book, Dunstan and Theodore.

In 2016, Farrell worked with the TSO as a participant of the inaugural TSO Composers’ Project, and in 2018 her string quartet, Transient Rush, was selected for the Flinders Quartet Composer Development Program. In 2020, Farrell participated in the Australian Youth Orchestra (AYO) National Music Camp Composition Program under the mentorship of composer Melody Eötvös.

Farrell was awarded the University of Tasmania Honours Scholarship in 2020 and the DJ Motors Music Scholarship for the University of Tasmania from 2017 to 2020. In 2020, she was awarded a University Medal for the completion of her degree with a GPA of 6.969. She has also been recognised by receiving the Launceston College Edward Wesley Memorial Prize for Music and the Mary Woolhouse Music Award in 2016.

Works by Clare L. Farrell in our Catalogue