KAY: Symphony No.2: The South Land for Symphony Orchestra

TSO House: Don Kay
SKU: KD39972 Category: Tag:
Symphony No.2 (1996) The South Land

Don Kay

3[1.2.pic]3[1.2.EH]3[1.2.Bcl]3[1.2.Cbn] – 4331 – tmp+2 – hp – str[]
Chimes, S.D., Sus Cymbal, Temple Blocks, Crotales, Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Bass Drum, Pair of Cymbals

Dedicated to the memory of Gwen Harwood

Tasmania’s landscape is an ever-present source of inspiration to me. The forests, mountains and waterways provided the spark that brought this work into being, but it is less representational in concept than a number of my recent compositions.
Organised in one extended movement, it is nevertheless divided into three main sections.
The very slow, quiet opening begins from a single pitch, D, which is gradually extended
outwards chromatically, to soon burst out into the spirited first main section. This eventually gives way, after a strong, dissonant climax, to a slower and generally quieter main central section, characterised by an expansive melody beginning and ending on a solo oboe. This section leads in turn to a more flowing third main phase, which, having run its course, returns to a partial reprise of the very opening, which serves as a quiet, peaceful coda, bring the work, as it were, full circle.

Duration 28:00-29:00 minutes
Digital Score available for purchase
Digital Download includes Score Only
Parts available for hire, please email tsohouse@tso.com.au for more info and pricing.

$124.95 inc. GST